Join | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In
Certified Residential Mortgage Specialist

Certified Residential Mortgage Specialist - NAMB's mid-level credential who want to commit to higher standards of professional practice. 

The Certified Residential Mortgage Specialist (CRMS® ) certification exam measures the knowledge of mortgage professionals who have been in the industry for at least two years. NAMB created the Certification as a way for mortgage professionals who have established themselves within the industry to validate their achievements. The CRMS® exam is open to NAMB members and non-members. If you’re applying for this exam and are NOT a NAMB member, please send an email to to find out how. 

Click the Links below:

CRMS Application

CRMS Applicant Handbook


The CRMS exam is open to mortgage professionals who meet the following requirements:

  • have at least two (2) years of mortgage industry experience;

  • possess and have documented a minimum of 50 qualifying points;

  • agree to abide by, and have no violations against, the NAMB Code of Ethics;

  • and agree to abide by, and have no violations against, NAMB’s best-lending practices.

Qualifying points are determined by a combination of education and experience as determined by the five categories listed in the table below (For each category, candidates must have a minimum and maximum number of points in order to achieve eligibility).
For a complete breakdown of CRMS eligibility points, please refer to the CRMS Application & Applicant Handbook. To review the requirements for all NAMB Certification Program click on Eligibility Requirements.

Categories  Qualifiers                          PointsMin Max
 Category 1 Work Experience 3-5 Per Year 10 30
 Category 2 Mortgage Education 1 per Credit Hour 20 40
 Category 3 Formal Education 3-10 based on Degree 0 27
 Category 4 Professional Certifications 5-15 based on Credential 0 15
 Category 5 Leadership & Participation Based on Level/Participation 0 15